The Walpole British Luxury Awards: 2023 Winners

This year at the 2023 Walpole British Luxury Awards, Boodles, Rolls-Royce, and Ozwald Boateng were key winners. Anabela Chan received the 'Game-Changer' Award, while Sunspel and Matthew Cox won the 'Made in the UK' and 'Luxury in the Making' Awards, respectively.

The Walpole British Luxury Awards: 2023 Winners

On the evening of November 20th, 2023, The Rake had the privilege of participating in the celebration of excellence and innovation at the annual Walpole British Luxury Awards. Held in the grandeur of The Dorchester in Mayfair, London, the event gathered 450 of the industry's most creative minds, influential leaders, and distinguished figures to honor the best of British luxury.

Hosted by the charismatic actress Lydia West, the ceremony was graced by illustrious personalities like Lady Amelia Spencer, Sabrina Elba, Gareth Pugh, and Ozwald Boateng OBE. 

Helen Brocklebank, Walpole’s Chief Executive, captured the essence of the ceremony night: “Since their inception in 2001, the Walpole British Luxury Awards has celebrated the super charged combination of culture, creativity and commerce that is a signature of British luxury’s global appeal. Fast forward to this evening’s awards and it’s clear that the defining mix of arts and business is still the bedrock of luxury’s success. In a country renowned for its storytelling, every Walpole award has a tale to tell of individual triumphs, of Britain’s extraordinarily rich and diverse history and of the talent, ingenuity, creativity and innovation of its people.” 

Torsten Müller-Ötvös and Helen Brocklebank.
Charlie Casely-Hayford.
Lady Amelia Spencer and Delphi Primrose.
David Harewood.

The awards were a tapestry of recognition, celebrating great achievements. The 'Visionary Award' was fittingly bestowed to Torsten Müller-Ötvös, marking his impactful tenure as CEO of Rolls-Royce Motor Cars. David Harewood OBE was honoured for his significant contributions to acting and social advocacy, highlighting the influence and importance of British talent in shaping cultural narratives.

British tailoring and fashion were prominently featured, with Ozwald Boateng OBE receiving a ‘Great Creative Briton Award’ for his unique fusion of traditional British tailoring with vibrant cultural influences. Sunspel's recognition with the 'Made in the UK' award emphasised the importance of domestic manufacturing and the brand's international growth.

The ‘Luxury in the Making’ award, a new addition, was presented to Matthew Cox for his dedication to British craftsmanship in furniture and lighting. The collaboration between Brown's Hotel and Sir Paul Smith, which melded fashion with hospitality, was also celebrated.

Oscar Boateng and Ozwald Boateng.
Brandon Hinton, The Rake.
Matthew Cox and Camilla McLean.

The event celebrated the achievements in the jewellery industry, with accolades going to both Boodles and Anabela Chan for their respective contributions to traditional craftsmanship and innovative disruption. Neal's Yard Remedies was lauded for its dedication to sustainability, a critical aspect of modern luxury.

The Royal Academy of Arts and Claridge’s were recognised for supporting artistic talent, and Sonia Boyce OBE RA was celebrated for her groundbreaking artistic achievements. Wayne McGregor CBE received the 'Artistic Pioneer' Award, underscoring the far-reaching influence of British creative talent.

Brown's Hotel and Sir Paul Smith.
Nicholas Brooke, Sunspel.

The ceremony also highlighted the 'Brands of Tomorrow', recognising up-and-coming luxury businesses representing British entrepreneurship's future. The evening concluded with a luxurious dinner and sumptuous goody bags, a fitting end to a night that celebrated the pinnacle of British luxury.